Richard Barohn, MD

Professor and Chairman, Department of Neurology and Vice Chancellor for Research
University of Kansas Medical Center

Dr. Richard J. Barohn is Vice Chancellor for Research at the University of Kansas Medical Center in Kansas City. He is also the Gertrude and Dewey Ziegler Professor of Neurology, and University Distinguished Professor, and the President of the Research Institute.

Dr. Barohn is a graduate of the University of Missouri - Kansas City School of Medicine.  He completed a neurology residency at Wilford Hall USAF Medical Center in San Antonio, Texas and then completed a neuromuscular fellowship at Ohio State University.

Dr. Barohn is board certified in adult neurology by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology with added qualifications in clinical neurophysiology.  He is also certified by the American Board of Electrodiagnostic Medicine.

Dr. Barohn holds membership in many professional societies, including the American Academy of Neurology (fellow status), the American Neurological Association.  Dr. Barohn has served on the national medical advisory boards for the Myasthenia Gravis Foundation and the Guillain-Barre Syndrome Foundation International and The Myositis Association.  He was the recipient of the 2000 Alumni Achievement Award for Medicine from the University of Missouri - Kansas City.  In 2012 he received the University of Kansas Chancellor’s Club Research Award, in 2014 he became a KU University Distinguished Professor and most recently was elected into membership of the prestigious Association of American Physicians (AAP).

His present research focuses on myopathies (such as polymyositis and muscular dystrophy), motor neuron disease (such as amyotrophic lateral sclerosis), peripheral neuropathies, and myasthenia gravis. He has developed a number of endpoint scales in neuromuscular disease that have been used in many clinical trials.  He was the lead principal investigator of the multi-center study of mexiletine in nondystrophic myotonia that was published in JAMA. He has led or leads several multicenter international trials (methotrexate for myasthenia gravis, rasagiline for ALS, memantine for ALS and arimoclomol for IBM).  He recently led a 40 site comparative effectiveness study of drugs for painful neuropathy funded by PCORI and he is the leader of the rare disease program in the Greater Plains Collaborative PCORnet.  He is the principal investigator of a 25 million dollar NIH Clinical Translational Science Award and the Director of Frontiers:  The University of Kansas Translational Science Institute.

View All Members